Dear internet…..

Friends have suggested I write a blog for a while now. I decided to look into it and saw that, amongst the ranks of bloggers within the ‘blogosphere’, there are people who can make their audience laugh, cry, sympathise or simply think about the world that we’re in. I mean, really think.

Naturally, I immediately grouped myself within this select community. However, the more I think about it, the more I’m wondering if this foray into the digital unknown will turn out to be a cruel diversionary tactic employed by ‘friends’ in much the same way as it is used to appease a child telling you a meaningless story – “Yes Johnny, that sounds nice. Have you told mummy?”

Worryingly, as I write this, I’m very conscious of the fact that I might be that infuriating ‘friend’ on social media who forces their opinion on the world, regardless of whether the opinion has been well-thought-out or holds any weight at all. Such morons on my newsfeeds tell me on a daily basis that “Britain should kick out anyone who isn’t English” (no, the last word in that ‘opinion’ was not supposed to read “British”. It would have made more sense, although holds no more sway, if it did, but I think that highlights the expert level of moron I have to deal with.), “All [insert chosen group here] are terrorists/racists/murderers/criminals/very nice people” and, my personal favourite, anyone who takes the Daily Mail at face value. As I sit waiting for the 6ft snowfall they’ve been predicting for the last 4 years, I’d like to think that, whilst people don’t always agree with my opinions, I can at least back them up with some logical thinking or research.

To add to my current discomfort about exactly where I’ll sit in the “online opinion spectrum” is the merest of possibilities that I might belong in possibly the most cringe-worthy sector with those who need constant validation or reassurance that both them and their opinion matter somehow. These are the purveyors of annoyingly vague or cryptic posts on social media that evoke responses like “whats the matter hun” (note both the awful spelling and the total and utter disregard for any form of punctuation). In order to play along with their well-earned, if undesirable, stereotype, these creatures of habit will tell everyone that they “don’t want to talk about it”, regardless of the fact they’ve just informed several hundred, thousand or more people that there is “a problem”. It’s probably the fact that their smartphone is running out of battery and, god forbid, they have to interact with another human being without the aid of technology.

So it is with some reservation that I tread carefully into the unknown. With much the same vigour that every single person with a kitchen has ever partaken in a little bit of over-enthusiastic, out of time and altogether suspect ‘kitchen dancing’ within the confines of their own home, I’ve excitedly rattled this down in the comfort of my front room. I guess it’s now time to ‘pull back the kitchen blinds and continue dancing with no worries about what people will think’. Or, in my case, press ‘POST’……

Leave a comment